Twitter Feed

Process Co-ordinator Support

FESS continues to offer support in your quality assured activities, including: 

  • Regular updates via e-mail and phone
  • Answers to your queries via e-mail, phone and one to one consultations. Please check out the Contact Us page for all our contact details
  • There are a series of resources uploaded to the site, including documentation relating to programme development, together with all the required templates needed to develop programmes in line with the ETBI-led shared programme development initiative
  • Training for the programme developers and the programme evaluators. Please contact your regional support officer for further information
  • A regularly updated set of status sheets that indicate where in the process programme development is at any time
  • Full access to all the version 3 programme descriptors and programme modules approved for sharing by QQI


Status Sheets

The ETBI shared programme development initiative began in September 2011. Since then a number of programmes leading to the new QQI common awards have been, and continue to be, developed. In order to communicate to the sector where programmes leading to these new awards were being developed a series of status sheets were maintained by FESS. These sheets can be viewed by clicking on the relevant link in the table below.

Each link will take you to a spreadsheet with three tabs:

  • Tab 1 - Programmes developed in line with Major award and related minor awards as per QQI award structure
  • Tab 2 - List of programme descriptors developed
  • Tab 3 - List of programme modules developed
Status Sheets
Level 4 Level 5 Level 6
Status Sheet Status Sheet Status Sheet

steps for programme development


How to use the common awards at Level 3, Level 4, Level 5 and Level 6:
1) Review the new award specifications

2) Once you've identified the award(s) you wish to use, consult the QQI Guidelines for Preparing Programme DescriptorsGuidelines for Preparing Programme Descriptors  and view the programme information requirements in the Application form for Programme Validation (Levels 3 to 6)

3) While FETAC is responsible for setting standards for the awards, the Provider is responsible for the design of the programme. A range of programmes may lead to the same award. Programmes may vary in content and delivery methodology but they must be designed to enable the learner to achieve the learning outcomes specified in the award.

4) Devise your programme relative to the award specification.

5)  To request details on how to apply for validation, contact FETAC via the 'contact us' link on the FETAC website www.fetac.ie.   Applications for programme validation should be made on line via the FETAC Business System (FBS)

6) In advance of validation programmes must be evaluated and approved. This will be done either through a provider's programme approval agreement (PAA) or by FETAC.

7) Once validation is achieved the Provider can start delivery of the programme. Note: Providers are required to implement FETAC's Quality Assuring Assessment policy prior to submission of a programme for validation.

The Provider should be familiar with the following documentation prior to developing programmes:
- the policies and procedures agreed between FETAC and the Provider for Quality Assurance
- The relevant Award Specifications

  • Level 3 Awards
  • Level 4 Awards
  • Level 5 Awards
  • Level 6 Awards
  • - QQI Guidelines for Preparing Programme Descriptors  
    - Application form for Programme Validation (Levels 3 to 6)
    - Quality Assuring Assessment Guidelines for Providers May 2007

    The following may also be useful as a reference:  

    - The One to One Approach to Programme Development - Level 3
    - Quality Assurance in Further Education and Training Policy and Guidelines for Providers v1.3
    - Validation of Programmes: Policy (FETAC)
    - Quality Assuring Assessment: Policy (FETAC)
    - Determinations for the Outline National Framework of Qualifications (NQAI) - pages 16 and 19

    Further Programme Information:

    Information on programmes that have been approved for sharing is available on the FETAC website