Twitter Feed

Section 18 of the Qualifications (Education and Training) Act 1999 requires that all Providers of Further Education and Training establish:

• A Quality Assured System
• A Self Evaluation System

Under Section 14 of this Act, the Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC) was established. FETAC makes awards to Learners who have completed one or more of a vast range of programmes offered by Providers. To ensure the standard of the awards FETAC,

• agrees Quality Assurance Systems with Providers
• validates programmes submitted by Providers
• monitors and evaluates the programmes

FETAC Requirements
All Providers offering programmes leading to FETAC awards are required to agree a quality assurance system with FETAC. The Provider's quality assurance agreement must demonstrate that the Provider has the capacity to deliver programmes which ensure the integrity of the award standard. The quality assurance system must demonstrate the Providers' capacity to monitor, evaluate and improve on an onging basis the quality of programmes and services it offers to learners. FETAC's requirements for Quality Assurance systems are documented in Quality Assurance in Further Education and Training: Policy and Guidelines for Providers v1.3

The Further Education Support Service continue to proactively support the Self Evaluation of Programmes and Services. To date the FESS support processes have taken a three tier format;

1. A National Conference on Self Evaluation of Programmes and Services for senior management within Providers and other interested stakeholders was held in the Clock Tower, Department of Education and Science, Dublin, in October 2007

2. A support seminar for the Self Evaluation of Programmes and Services which may be offered and delivered on a regional basis

3. The development of an online resource to support Providers in conducting the Self Evaluation of Programmes and Services.